How can I share/export routes?

Category: Route Planning

Sharing routes and pins between devices or exporting to files is a premium feature. Routes and pins can be shared using iCloud sync or exported as a .GPX file:

iCloud sync:

  • Routes and pins you save to inRoute’s Favorites can be automatically synced to the Favorites of your other devices if you opt-in to iCloud sync. You are prompted to opt-in to iCloud sync when you subscribe, but if you did not opt-in on a device you will see “Favorites Sync Disabled” at the top of your “Favorites” screen. Selecting that row will open the app’s settings, where you can enable the “iCloud” option.
  • Then, in order to sync your current route or pins on the map, save them by tapping the map’s More button (on a Mac, the File menu), and use the “Save” option. iCloud generally starts syncing changes to your Favorites within about 30-45 seconds (you will see a blue progress bar appear at the top of the Favorites screen). Once the sync completes, from the other device’s Favorites you can select a route to restore it to the other device’s map, or select the 3-dots icon next to a folder to drop the folder’s pins back to the map. 

Send as a .GPX file:

  • Use the map’s Share icon (or the File menu on a Mac) to share your map by AirDrop, email or export to cloud storage. To import from a message on a receiving iOS device, tap the attached file (for email, it’s at the bottom of the message), and on the Share screen, from the second row of app icons select “inRoute” (this may be under the “More” button at the far right). On a Mac, you can drag and drop the attachment onto inRoute’s map.

Show all FAQs